WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT CLIMATE CHANGE? IS IT A THREAT TO OUR CHILDREN’S FUTURE?


DO YOU WANT TO LEARN MORE? IF NOT NOW—WHEN?

2014-03-08 13.38.44

Meet Mary Guay MSW, author, and motivational environmentalist who after retirement as a hospice social worker found a compelling issue she could not ignore. A series of events convinced Mary she wanted to learn about climate change and how it would affect her grandchildren’s futures.

After a year and a half of research and making many changes to live green, she has written a book explaining climate change and the surprising reasons it is an issue now. She and her husband always wanted to leave something to the grandchildren. Now their mission is to do what they can to leave a healthy planet that is capable of supporting the next generation.

Here is her story.

“I never intended to become an author and had no courses for writing. I did research in graduate school  twenty years ago and presented research papers.

My writing is non-fiction and all related to climate change, It has the scientific research, but I made sure it is not textbook boring. I learned a few things that got me concerned about what climate change might mean to our children’s future, so I did some checking. I opened a Pandora’s box and launched into a year of intense research. Along the way we made many changes in our home to live sustainably. We now use 82-84% less electricity in our totally electric home a year and use 75% less gasoline. Those are only a few of many changes. I began to realize many people would make more environmentally friendly choicesif they understood the danger global warming  puts in our children’s futures. I was raking my brain (you might  call it praying) about how to help people learn what is at stake.

Joanne, you asked when I decided to be a writer. On a Monday morning in March 2012 at 10:00 a.m.,  I had no intention of being an author when I got my answer. Five words packed with the adrenaline that makes it stick. “I will write a book” came from my mouth. At church we talk about finding our purpose and I knew without a doubt, I had been given mine. My answer was, “And so it is.” I started writing that day. On January 1, 2004 my book was published.

I had done the research, but had to go back and take the notes this time. My advice to someone who is thinking of writing a book is to dare to say, “Yes.”

I was fortunate to find two writers’ groups Marco Island Writers and Gulf Coast Writers Assoc. As a novice these groups have given me guidance that made publishing possible.

I decided to use CreateSpace, based on what I learned from fellow writers. My reasons were that I am 70 years old and this is my first book. I learned agents and publishers want a writer to agree to a series of books and don’t view first time writers over 60 as having that as a likely future.

May You be Blessed With Fair Winds and Following Seas”

            Learn what climate change is about and the many rewarding things Mary and her husband Wally have succeeded in doing to cut their electrical use by over 80% per year, their gasoline use by 75%, and how Mary is restoring her health. If people do a fraction of what is in her book they could save $1000.00 to $3000.00 per year and lose weight if that is an issue for the reader.  

The link to her website is:  MaryGuay.org

climate-change- by Mry Guay

Leave a Reply

